Theme: Acquisition and Storage Technologies for the next Millennium.

Embassy Suites Hotel Denver South, Englewood CO +1-800-654-4810

Click here hotel details


Monday, July 12, 1999

1:30 - 4:30 PM

Board of Directors Meeting

5:00 - 7:00 PM

NCITS B5 Ad Hoc ID-1 Instrumentation Tape Group
(NCITS B5 will confirm the time and date by e-mail)

Tuesday, July 13, 1999

8:00-9:00 AM

Registration and Continental Breakfast

9:00 AM

Dr P.C. Hariharan, 368 Jamie Ct., Glen Burnie, MD 21060-8249, Phone: +1-301-441-3694, FAX: +1-301-441-3697, e-mail: hari@charm.net - "Update on THIC Home Page & Archive of Papers".

9:15 AM

Denis Iler, ECRIX Corp., 5525 Central Ave., Boulder CO 80301, Phone: 1-303-245-7286, Fax: 1-303-402-9266, e-mail: diler@ecrix.com - " VXA - The Only Tape Drive Focused on Restore".

9:45 AM

Mark Klang, Calculex, Inc., 2900 Avon Rd, Rocklin CA 95677, Phone: +1-916-632-1301, Fax: , e-mail: markk@calculex.com - "Utilizing a Solid State Recorder for Tactical Reconnaissance".

10:15 AM

Break

10:45 AM

Cherie Davis, Plasmon Inc., 4425 Arrowswest Dr., Colorado Springs CO 80907, Phone: +1-719-593-4214, Fax: +1-719-593-4597, e-mail: cherie.davis@plasmon.lms.com - "12" Optical Technology Present and Future Advancements".

11:15 AM

Asa Watanabe, Metrum-Datatape Inc., 605 E. Huntington Dr., Monrovia CA 91017-7170, Phone: +1-626-930-9422, Fax: +1-626-930-9478, e-mail: awatanabe@metrum-datatape.com - "Wideband Analog Recording - The Next Step in S-VHS Format".

11:45 AM

Lunch

1:15 PM

Randy Glissmann, Fujitsu Computer Products of America, Intellistor R&D Facility, 1751 S. Fordham St., Suite 100, Longmont CO 80503, Phone: +1-303-682-6555, Fax: +1-303-682-6401, e-mail: rglissmann@intellistor.com - "Using Track Following Servos on Next Generation Tape Drives".

2:00 PM

Steve Blendermann, StorageTek, One StorageTek Dr., Louisville, CO 80026-6202, Phone: +1-303-673-3184, Fax: +1-303-661-8462, e-mail: steve_blendermann@storagetek.com - "Virtual Tape Storage Management".

2:30 PM

Tim Gerchar, Benchmark Tape Systems Corp., 5665 Airport Blvd., Boulder CO 80301, Phone: +1-303-443-7358, Fax: +1-303-443-7359, e-mail: timg@benchmarktape.com - "DLT and MR Heads".

3:00 PM

Break

3:20 PM

Leif Skaar, Exabyte Corp., 1685 38th St., Boulder CO 80301, Phone: +1-303-442-4333, Fax: +1-303-417-7170, e-mail: leif@exabyte.com - "Advancements in AME Media".

3:50 PM

Ian Webb, SEAKR Engineering, 12847 East Peakview Avenue, Englewood CO 80111, Phone: +1-303-790-8499, Fax: +1-303-790-8720, e-mail: ian@seakr.com- " SEAKR Engineering's Briefing to THIC ".

4:20 PM

Joel Williams, Systems Engineering & Security, Inc, 7474 Greenway Center Dr, Ste 700, Greenbelt MD 20770-3523, Phone: +1-301-441-3694, Fax: +1-301-441-3697, e-mail: joelw@ses-inc.com - "The ANSI/AIIM MS66 standard for FSMS".

Wednesday, July 14, 1999

8:00 AM

Registration and Continental Breakfast

9:00 AM

Mike McCorkle, Fuji Photo FilmU.S.A., Inc.;Phone, +1-914-789-8548, Fax +1-914-789-8530, e-mail:Mike_McCorkle@fujifilm.com - "Tape's Future: Why New High-End Tapes?".

9:30 AM

Steve Scully, Quantum, 4001 Discovery Dr., Suite 1100, Boulder, CO 80303, Phone: +1-720-406-5550, Fax: +1-720-406-5762, e-mail: steve.scully@quantum.com - "LASER Guided Magnetic Recording; Carrying Super DLT into the next Millennium".

10:00 AM

Break

10:15 AM

Doug Herrington, Unitree Software Inc. Phone: +1-303-840-2548, Fax: +1-303-840-2352, e-mail: doug@unitree.com - "Data Management from Desktop to Department to Data Center to Data Warehouse".

10:45 AM

Jack Cole, Army Research Laboratory, High Performance Computing, Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD 21005-5067, Phone: +1-410-278-9276, Fax: +1-410-278-2694, e-mail: cole@arl.mil - "Activities of the SSSWG, Trends in Storage" .

11:15 AM

Gene Harano, NCAR, 1850 Table Mesa Dr., Boulder CO 80303, Phone: +1-303-497-1203, Fax: +1-303-497-1848, e-mail: snow@ucar.edu "Storage Technology Requirements of the NCAR Mass Storage System".

11:45 AM

Lunch

12:30 PM

Carpool Departs for NCAR

1:30 PM

Tour of NCAR (The tour is estimated to last about 2 hours)